Look For A Positive In Every Day. 

thankful

 

I have gone through some tough times throughout my life, however a work related incidence made me hit the depths of despair.  In 2011,  I hit rock bottom and looked for ways to end my life.  I had gone from a gregarious, fun loving, happy person to a deeply depressed, empty shadow.

This was my turning point.  I started looking for a positive in every day, something to be thankful for; blue skies, flowers, wind in the trees, birdsong, child’s laughter, a smile from a passing stranger.  There were positive things in every day and I was noticing them. I started to smile again.

This was the catalyst to change my life.  I went to classes about setting up a business at my local university and pushed myself into networking events. It was anxiety provoking but I was growing through it, gaining confidence and becoming the new “me”.

Work was coming my way and I was diversifying my roles.  In 2013, the university asked me to present my business at an entrepreneur’s day, which I did.  I won an award!!  Life was good.

In 2014, I entered a national entrepreneur competition and came 2nd.  I got to meet David Cameron PM as part of my prize. There I was, an entrepreneur and a multi award winning, successful business owner.  I had made it and I am thankful.

Through my diverse roles, I came into contact with many people.  I found others going through hard times and lacking in confidence.  I wanted to help them to improve their lives, as I had mine.  Having been through tough times, I understood their feelings, the hurt, betrayal and devastation for some, the needing change for others.

Helping others overcome adversity gives me a sense of satisfaction.  When changes are made and outlooks shifted, great things happen.  I have had the pleasure of witnessing this and am overjoyed and amazed at their achievements.  I truly am thankful.

Look for a positive in every day.  There is always something to be thankful for.

~ Sarah Dawkins

 

 

 

 


2 thoughts on “Look For A Positive In Every Day. 

Leave a comment